Moodle Backup and Restore


Step-by-step and Tips

To create a course backup:

  1. Initial Settings
    1. For the initial settings, we recommend that you leave the default options (include activities, blocks, and filters).
    2. Click “Next” at the bottom of the page.
  2. Schema Settings
    1. Choose the activities and resources you want to include, the default selection is “backup everything”.
    2. The Include All/None links at the top will check or uncheck all the boxes in a column.
    3. Optional: Use the individual checkboxes to select or unselect specific parts of the course for the backup.
    4. Click “Next” at the bottom of the page.
  3. Confirmation and review
    1. Review the backup options that you selected, to make sure there are no errors.
    2. Optional: change the name of the backup file.
    3. Click “Perform Backup” at the bottom of the page.
  4. Perform backup
    1. If all went well, you will now see a message confirming that the backup was created.
    2. Click on the “Continue” button.
  5. Managing backups screen (Restore)
    1. You should now be at a screen that shows a list of all the backups, and also allows you to upload additional backup files to the server.
      NOTE: This is the “Restore” screen, which is what you will use to bring your current course to a new Moodle server, so it can be a bit confusing.
    2. Click on “Download” next to the name of the backup you just created, and copy it to a CD, or a USB drive, for your own personal backup.



Restoring a Course Backup


Moodle course backups are named based on the time and date that they were created, ending with the file extension .mbz.

How to restore a Moodle backup?

Courses can be restored from a backup made by Moodle.

  1. Under the Administration block, click on Restore.
  2. If you haven’t uploaded your course zip file yet, click on the button Choose a file, in the section Import a backup file.
  3. Click on the Restore button.

Generally speaking a backup may be restored in several ways. It can:

  • Restore by adding the backup data to the course, or
  • Restore by deleting first the course data then restoring the backup data.

All restore processes offer the option to include or exclude student data and/or course files.


It is possible to backup and/or restore specific course resources and activities. For example, an instructor can backup the entire course, then restore only Assignment 1 with student data, and a forum without student data, to the course. This is called a granular restore.

Contributors to this page: dperkin and admin .
Page last modified on Thursday June 1, 2017 14:57:17 +07 by dperkin.

Main Navigation